632 posts
  • Has been part of the Envato Community for over 4 years
  • Has sold $100+ on Envato Market
  • Has collected 10+ items on Envato Market
  • Sells items exclusively on Envato Market
Thecodingdude says

I don’t get it.

Why do items that claim they “protect” your CSS /HTML/JS get approved? You can’t protect client side code that the client is able to see.

5490 posts
  • Has referred 1+ members
  • Located in Australia
  • Has sold $1,000+ on Envato Market
+4 more
Australia says

I am amazed also, in fact I have commented on a couple of the latest items, I am somewhat bewildered as to how these files are getting thru Envatos, usual stringent system.

The css protector, whilst clever in its theory, was severley flawed.

Not to mention, it stated it was 100% secure… hmm

But ho hum…

Perhaps the best method for protecting css, is to use import, functions and some php trickery.

Im no expert tho, and that file that has since Gorn.. well , yep LAME to say the least

330 posts No! It's not a 5 minute job!
  • Has referred 100+ members
  • Has sold $250,000+ on Envato Market
  • Has been a beta tester for an Envato feature
+14 more
WebFactory says

There is no way to protect client-side code. That’s why it’s called “client-side” :) There are ways to hide it, obfuscate it and generally make stealing a bit more difficult.

As far as the item goes – I’m not thrilled either by it’s “propaganda” but other than that it’s fine.

632 posts
  • Has sold $100+ on Envato Market
  • Sells items exclusively on Envato Market
Thecodingdude says
SportTipsWorld said
I am amazed also, in fact I have commented on a couple of the latest items, I am somewhat bewildered as to how these files are getting thru Envatos, usual stringent system.

The css protector, whilst clever in its theory, was severley flawed.

Not to mention, it stated it was 100% secure… hmm

But ho hum…

Perhaps the best method for protecting css, is to use import, functions and some php trickery.