75 posts
  • Has been part of the Envato Community for over 1 year
  • Has sold $100+ on Envato Market
  • Has collected 1+ items on Envato Market
  • Located in Europe
+1 more
lion-audio says

Hi everyone. I’m fairly new to AJ (since january). I uploaded some tracks and are now uploading more frequently in order to get where we all want to get : getting paid for doing what we love!! I regularly read the AJ forums and really do appreciate the thoughts and opinions of all you guys. In order to promote and sell your music, and, as it is suggested in the “how to promote your music” thread, you have to become proactive. so here are my questions:

What social media do you use to promote your music?

how much time (hrs per week) do you spend being active at your networks?

Do you sell significantly more, having your items promoted in your social networks (not sure if that is a question with straight answers since you wouldn’t probably know how your sales went without promotion)?

reason i’m asking is: i never used facebook, twitter etc. and i’m not sure if i should start using them just for the sake of possible sales. It think it eats up a lot of time i would rather spend making music.. .

thanks for sharing, alex

736 posts All things are possible, for one who believes.
  • Won a competition
  • Sells items exclusively on Envato Market
  • Located in Canada
  • Has sold $500,000+ on Envato Market
+8 more
TimMcMorris says

Hey Alex!

My advise is this: social media is only good for promotion when it’s social.

What do I mean by that? Well, no one is going to really pay attention to anything that is just constantly blasting new links to your work. I mean, sure all the AJ people may follow it – but you need the people who will purchase your music to follow you.