5 posts
  • Has been part of the Envato Community for over 2 years
  • Has collected 100+ items on Envato Market
  • Sells items exclusively on Envato Market
Grayline says

Hello all

Just want to find out, if I purchase a tutorial (let’s say hypothetically, ‘how to design a glossy logo in photoshop’), am I allowed to add that ‘glossy logo’ to my portfolio?

As usual, thanks for any thoughts!

5 posts
Grayline says

Ps, I am still a beginner :)

3950 posts After Effects Templates
  • Elite Author: Sold more than $75,000 on Envato Market
  • Has sold $75,000+ on Envato Market and is now an Elite Author
  • Has referred 500+ members
+9 more
miseld says

The item must NOT be based on a tutorial. – For example you cannot submit an item that you created by following a tutorial, in whole or in part. Even if the tutorial writer has granted a license for use you should keep in mind that on principle the Envato Marketplaces do not allow tutorial recreations. If you are submitting a tutorial to the Tuts+ Marketplace, the tutorial must not be based in whole or in part on another tutorial, or based around another person’s work (such as a tutorial showing you how to recreate someone else’s work, i.e. an artwork). You cannot reproduce any elements of another tutorial or another person’s work, unless you have the license to do so.

Read more here: http://support.envato.com/index.php?/Knowledgebase/Article/View/112

63 posts
  • Has referred 10+ members
  • Has sold $40,000+ on Envato Market
  • Has been a beta tester for an Envato feature
  • Has collected 10+ items on Envato Market
+3 more
AgentVIP says

Can’t see there being a problem with it, as it’s really only you that dictates what goes onto your portfolio. Ethically, it depends though: If you’re going to copy (for instance) some sort of action poster, using identical images. elements, positions and methods.. then adding it to your portfolio may seem a little misleading to potential clients/visitors?