89 posts
  • Has been part of the Envato Community for over 4 years
  • Has sold $10,000+ on Envato Market
  • Made it to the Authors' Hall of Fame
LaMusique says

Hi guys,

I’ve been accepted to US university for my 2nd degree and I’m coming to US on a student visa F1 status. In my home country I’m a freelancer with registered small business. Do you think I should close my business in my home country and reopen it in US? Or should I leave my home country business as it is, freelance in US (when I’ll get a permission to work) but get money to my home-land bank account and pay my home-country taxes only without opening US business?

I’ve talked to a few accountants here in my home-country and none of them gave me a certain answer. They claim that they are not familiar with US laws and thats the reason they cannot advise me anything. I guess, if I’ll talk with US accountants they won’t give me an answer either as they are not familiar with the laws of my home country..

Would be glad for any kind of information you have. Thanks!

1 post
  • Has been part of the Envato Community for over 3 years
LaTazzay says
1234 posts
  • Has been part of the Envato Community for over 5 years
  • Has referred 50+ members
  • Has sold $75,000+ on Envato Market and is now an Elite Author
  • Has collected 50+ items on Envato Market
+5 more
MBMedia says

In SOME states you don’t need to (that’s one reason US law is hard for international lawyers to know, it’s often different for each of the 50 states). I don’t know the ramifications for someone on a student visa though, so you’ll still need to get some legal advice there,