• Sold between 250 000 and 1 000 000 dollars
  • Has been a member for 7-8 years
  • Author had a File in an Envato Bundle
  • Most Wanted Bounty Winner
  • Interviewed on the Envato Notes blog
  • South Africa
+3 more
digitalscience says

I’ve been an author here for quite some time now and remember when we did not have the comment facility on the file pages. We still sold files, if buyers had a question they would mail you. If you got a lot of emails about a bug, you would update the file and problem solved.

Then the comment facility was added which was great at first because buyers could get answerers from previous comments. But the problem is that the comments are broken up into pages and a lot of previously solved problems are not read by buyers so they ask the same questions over and over again.

Now the biggest issue with the comments is you can upload a file which runs perfectly ‘as is’, it can have a well documented help file and comments in the ActionScript but if you do not answer your comments for longer than a week, you will still start getting negative comments which can actually effect sales on the file. So answering comments has became a very repetitive and time consuming thing. I spend a lot more time answering the same comments and emails than making new files. So if we could minimise the repetitiveness of the support queries we could actually spend more time making files and making more money.

Surely the documentation alone should be enough support, if they do not know how to use Flash at all do we need to explain step by step instructions on Flash basics? If they modify the file heavily and break the file in the process, do we need to sit and figure out where they went wrong and tell them how to fix it? I think alot of buyers are under the impression that if they buy a file, the author will modify it for them the way they want which is not always possible if you are selling a lot of files every month.