3723 posts Community Moderator
  • Has referred more than 5000 members
  • Has sold $40,000+ on Envato Market
  • Had an item featured in an Envato Bundle
  • Has collected 100+ items on Envato Market
+9 more
quickandeasy Moderator says

This is something I have wondered for a while, however I may be being narrow minded as a designer myself: Do designers and developers make the best Entrepreneurs?

I’d like to welcome a debate about it. Here’s my opinion:

Working within the creative-industries, we are constantly required to think about the most creative and attractive, pleasing, simplest and most efficient ways to do things.

As designers, we grow up designing adverts and sales pages. We have an innate ability to visualise the desired final outcome and how we’re going to achieve that. We’re naturally nit-picky people – if something isn’t perfect, whether in design or function, we won’t stop until it is perfected. Being creative people, we love to dream up colourful and exciting ideas, our imaginations help us take something dull and turn it into something exciting. Also, we all know that good design is good business.

As developers, we constantly strive to find the most efficient processes, the quickest, easiest way to get from a to b. Developers think every process through in it’s most logical form, removing any unnecessary step or distraction. Developers love data and have the ability to build systems that can capture pretty much any information they require. Lastly, developers also pride themselves on automation. The more that their scripts and apps can do on their own and the less the developer’s attention is required, the better.

Both designers and developers are constantly judging too. Whether sat in a restaurant looking at the menu or digging through some open-source code – you’re thinking “How could I do this better than them” – or learning how you can improve yourself to match someone of a higher standard.