161 posts
  • Has been part of the Envato Community for over 7 years
  • Has referred 1+ members
  • Has sold $100+ on Envato Market
  • Has collected 50+ items on Envato Market
+3 more
SubKutz says

I’ve decided to continue a project I started over 2 years ago. I’m basically looking for a decent cms portal system for my website. Joomla = Yuck and I cant stand those Nuke style set ups. Fusion etc.

I’ve been playing around with Drupal for a few months and decided it’s not for me.

Even though WordPress is mainly for blogging I’ve heard it can be turned into a pretty decent little cms. Has anyone tried this?

I would try and one of the many great flash templates on here. The only problem is Subkutz + Flash = catastrophe.

Here’s the kind of web site style I’m aiming for. http://www.mtv.co.uk/ Actually MTV does use Drupal. But like I said, it’s not for me.

101 posts
  • Has been part of the Envato Community for over 6 years
  • Has referred 200+ members
  • Located in Australia
  • Has sold $10,000+ on Envato Market
+3 more
nellie says

I use joomla. But it really depends what features you need. Check out http://www.opensourcecms.com/ if you havn’t already, for demos of heaps of different ones.

There’s heaps of flash templates here which you can easily update through XML , so you don’t need to edit the flash file if all you want to do is update the content.

4908 posts
  • Has sold $5,000+ on Envato Market
  • Has collected 100+ items on Envato Market
  • Member of the Envato Team
+9 more
MarkBrodhuber Envato team says

well there I know of a magazine style wordpress template, I have the link at work…Ill try to find it tomorrow, and other than that I say go with Joomla, once you get used to it, you’ll love it!

161 posts
+3 more
SubKutz says