1 post
  • Has been part of the Envato Community for over 2 years
  • Has sold $1+ on Envato Market
  • Sells items exclusively on Envato Market
  • Located in United States
OnyxMotion says

As a new author I am seeking advice or suggestions to a recent rejection. I uploaded a pack of audio which included a female voice speaking the letters of the alphabet and numbers, fairly basic..

The audio pack was rejected and the reason sited was “The file did not meet our criteria”, and the email went on to say that there was nothing wrong with my submission and that the submission “offered very little utility to our audieance”. No other information, feedback, or suggestions were given. Therefore I am seeking some advice on this situation as, especially from some of the senior members of the marketplace. Before I provide my perspective I will first say I respect the decisions of the reviewer(s) and the rules of the site and am only posting hopes to see where I went off the tracks, no pun intended.

Again, the audio pack consisted of spoken letters “A”-“Z” and numbers “0-9” and is a subset of spoken words for each key on a standard computer keyboard.

I disagree with the statement that these sounds provided little or no utility to the audience. I have seen numerous audio files on the marketplace that had huge sales and be nothing more than a beep. There are various voice overs on this site that provide just a countdown and/or random phrases. Who knows or can say what is useful, in my opinion these spoken letters and numbers can be utilized numerous projects, here is just a few examples:

- An app/project that uses a virtual keyboard where audible feeback is desired
- An app/project that provides some benefit to the visually imparied
- An app/project, or other project for teaching childeren their 'ABC's
- An arcade game that annouces the initials selected by a player during highscore screen
- An app/project that requires a count-up or countdown such as "3..2..1", etc.