715 posts
  • Has referred 10+ members
  • Has sold $40,000+ on Envato Market
  • Has collected 10+ items on Envato Market
  • Had an item featured in an Envato Bundle
+7 more
majd_abdul says

About two weeks ago I stumbled upon an offer to try the MMORPG World of Warcraft for 10 days.

I’ve been a gamer since the nintendo days and I know great gameplay design when I see it. I’m also a fan of the Warcraft lore and story, so I decided to try it out.

From the moment I started playing I wondered what made this game so special and why are +11 million people playing it?

In terms of gameplay there was nothing that required any motoric skills or much thinking. All I did was fetch X ammount of Y item or Kill X Number of Y creature, still I kept playing this thing.

I’d spend ALL of my free time in the game world, and each time I logged off to work on my FlashDen files I’d get stuck on a tiny scripting issue and find myself back in the game.

At last, the trial period ended yesterday. Right now I’m literally itching to open a new trial account, but I’m grateful it’s over. Tomorrow I’ll take a hike to the mountain. Hope it clears the poison out of me.

Looking back I feel like I’ve lost 10 days of my life and achieved absolutely nothing.

1955 posts
  • Has been part of the Envato Community for over 6 years
  • Has sold $5,000+ on Envato Market
+3 more
Emroni says

I know exactly how you feel! I was a wow player myself, for a few months. Got to lvl 70, and thats where the fun actually began. It was pretty cool to play and all, but in the end, I hadnt achieved anyting.. I decided to stop playing, and have been clean for 2-3 months now :) Better yet, Ive made a shitload of money after I quit, since I had a lot more free time to do freelance :P

1246 posts
  • Has referred 50+ members
  • Has sold $5,000+ on Envato Market
  • Has collected 1+ items on Envato Market
  • Located in Greece
+4 more
zefs says