844 posts
  • Has referred 50+ members
  • Has sold $40,000+ on Envato Market
  • Has collected 10+ items on Envato Market
  • Had an item featured in an Envato Bundle
+7 more
PhilLarson says

Not too long ago I was a youth pastor. Here’s a series of 8 texts I received from a former youth student of mine last night at 4 am. Stuff like this keep me going. Hope you are able to find some encouragement in it and maybe restore some faith in humanity. This student just turned 18. He’s had a horrible family life, but has something wonderful about life figured out.

The texts:

“I know it’s early but I want to share my night at work with you, and while I was doing it I was thinking about how much you and Kylee are a blessing to my life and how many great things I appreciate that you would never have had to do and I love both of you like family I’ve never had, so here’s my night as I closed my shift at work. Some old man came up to my window crying, so I asked him if he was alright. He said his granddaughter was being flown to Indy. She was in a bad wreck and she wasn’t likely to make it so he gave me $5 and said this is our last money, give me gas on pump 7, we’re gonna at least try to make it. I said, can do. I put in $25 and closed my shift and started to leave as I was walking to the store the man called me over and said the pump gave him too much. I said I put in 20 extra, I hope you make it and I’ll pray for you and your family. The man grabbed me, cried on my shoulder, called me a blessing… and I’m just thinking like if I didn’t give him that money, he wouldn’t have made it to his granddaughter. He would have lived his life not seeing his granddaughter again.”

Please pray for this man and for a good outcome with his granddaughter. I showed my wife Kylee the texts and she said she had recently given this kid $20. This is how he paid it forward.

387 posts
  • Has sold $1,000+ on Envato Market
  • Sells items exclusively on Envato Market